Adobe Lightroom 4: A couple of notes
Posted on 8 Mar ’12 by Earl
It’s looking like Spring has arrived here. There will still be some random cold morning frost or perhaps even a snow in our future for the next 30 days or so but we’re getting past the Winter that wasn’t.
A couple of facts or reminders about the Lightroom 4 update.
1. Via the Lightroom Menu, [Lightroom] > [Catalog Settings] [Metadata] tab, be sure and check the “Automatically write changes into XMP” option — see below. When you enable this option all Lightroom adjustments/changes are written to the XMP block of the file instead of being stored in the Lightroom Catalog. If this option is off and you should happen o lose your LR Catalog then all you adjustments and changes would be lost as well. If this option is on and your changes are being written to the file as they are made then if you lost you current catalog you can just reimport the file into another LR Catalog and those previous LR changes should come with it. Adobe sets this option OFF by default for some reason…and there’s not a good reason for having it off. Check after you upgrade to LR4.
2. Just for the record, from some experimenting I was doing, the LR4 [File] > [Import from Another Catalog…] option is not the same as opening a LR3 database in LR4 and letting LR4 do it’s upgrade process. While the import will bring over almost everything from the other Catalog it will not bring over the Publishing Services or Publishing Albums. It also seems to miss bring over some Collections and will take a very long time where as the upgrade process is fairly quick. Now you know!